Friends,Who Needs Them

Hey stupid, yes you
people don’t give a damn about what they do to you
what you thought was the meaning of friends was a lie
they’d just as soon stab you in the back and wish that you’d die
there is a difference in what you thought and what is reality
not everything you see is really what it appears to be
nobody cares about a person’s feelings no more
they’ll just shut out everyone like they’re slamming a door
seems to me it’s a tad bit hypocritical
this is why I have a hard time not being cynical
people talking kindly to your face one day
then come to find out your trust they betray
maybe it’s the best to keep your feelings on a shelf
keep your heart locked up and love only yourself
it it seems very necessary in this day and age
people hurting one another their hearts and minds filled with rage
I spent many years mistrusting everyone in my life
when I finally opened up I found I had been stabbed in the back with a knife
I really wish I had just stayed true to myself nothing to lose nothing to gain
then I wouldn’t be here now enduring this pain.
Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

