Led Zepplin- Plagiarists Beyond Compare

 If anyone of you have watched the movie Cadillac Records you might have an idea of what I am talking about here. Seems that Willie Dixon had written a song called “You Need to Love” and Led Zepplin stole this song and called it “Whole Lotta Love.” At the end of the movie it states that Willie Dixon won his lawsuit against Led Zepplin. Obviously, this was several years later than when the song was released by Led Zepplin.  This is when I decided to do a lil investigating to find out the song in question. What I found took my breath away.
I am a Led Zepplin fan, I like all music but, I most definitely find myself listening to classic rock more then any other music. I mean lyrics and instruments being played by the artist or group themselves to me cannot be beat. I am shocked and appalled that people plagiarize anything from anyone but, in music this is completely outrageous to me.
Now I have heard the same thing said about Elvis Presley and I have to once again say how much I love Elvis. I grew up on his music, I usually defend against the comments made about him stealing music from black people by saying, “Elvis was an artist who did what his manager, Colonel Tom Parker and label told him to do”. As all signed musicians do. Elvis also never wrote a song in his life. His writer, Otis Blackwell, is in fact a black man. Both of Elvis’ song writer’s were black men which is why his music sounded like “black music.” Whatever that means… To me it doesn’t matter what your skin color is as long as the music is good, lyrically and instrumentally.
So back to the matter at hand, Led Zepplin. I am going to try my hardest to not be a hypocrite here and say they were probably doing what their manager and Atlantic Records told him to do. People in the music industry know first hand that if you want to make it you do as your told or you are shit out of luck. But, just to show you that not only did they steal 1 song they in fact stole 10 that I know of. I found this video and I will share it with you all. You can decide if you think Led Zepplin is wrong or not. I pray that they only did what they were told, because musically they were the best classic rock band, turns out they were the best plagiarizing rock band ever.

One thought on “Led Zepplin- Plagiarists Beyond Compare

  1. Kimmie says:

    That will make you think.
    Lots of people steal other people's ideas and words.. sadly when you are the little guy..
    There is NOT a lot you can do about it !

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

