Who says night is for sleeping?

 I have never been one for mornings. Well, maybe when I was a child or young adult. I can’t even begin to fathom how I use to be awake most of the night and still get up early in the morning. Suppose it’s true that we do have more energy when we are younger.

It’s called being a Night-owl, or so I am told. Although, I don’t know why the redundancy… aren’t owls nocturnal? Have you ever heard of a Day-Owl?  So, why the need to specifically say night? Some people say Vampire as well. Really??? We, as a society are some weird people. Hollywood makes Vampires seem so cool, even makes people run out and get fangs. I shake my head at this, even as I type it. What exactly is so cool about someone who comes out at night to suck the life out of you?  I don’t know about all of you but, if I am face-to face with a Vampire I hardly think I will be dying for an autograph. I am pretty sure I would be screaming.”Oh my God, please don’t kill me.” LOL Jokes aside, seriously what the hell is wrong with these people with Vampire obsession?

 I think one of the reasons I love the night, is the moon. It is so big and so bright, gives off so much light. It truly is a beautiful thing to gaze at. When I was a child I use to lie awake for hours at night staring out my window at the moon. So I tell you it is absolutely, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful things you can look at. Something so magical about a huge ball hanging in the sky that gives us light were there once was dark. Have you ever just looked I mean really looked at the moon in all it’s magnificent glory? It truly is one of the Universe’s best creations.

Another reason, is night seems so peaceful. I guess that depends on where you live at, I suppose in some areas it can be mighty frightening. Usually the world is sleeping so the hustle and bustle of life is at a stand still. I, myself have lived in the country where all you here is owls at night. I have also lived in the city and heard traffic and gunshots all night. Either way, I still manage to not sleep well, despite the sounds I hear.

 Insomnia, is what they call my inability to sleep and stay asleep. There are days I get as little as 4 hours of sleep, been a few times I have gotten none at all. No matter how many hours I do or don’t sleep the result is always the same. I get up, unlike most, unrefreshed in a zombie like state. I have tried pills, they don’t help. And quite frankly I don’t like the idea of taking pills constantly to do something that my body should do naturally for me.
 Stress is another factor. I have one of those minds that doesn’t not shut down and allow peaceful serenity. I mean nobodies mind shuts down, but mine, the only way I can describe it is, speed. My thoughts race all day and all night as if they were in a race and it’s imperative that I win. Where they once called this multi-tasking they now say it’s ADD or ADHD. Great, just when I thought I couldn’t get any crazier turns out my head truly is a mess. LOL

You would think that I would eventually be so exhausted that I would just sleep it off and for once wake up all anew. I am still waiting for this to happen, I am not holding my breath. Maybe, I should try meditating? The thing about that though is you have to shut down all around you and focus on one particular thought. Ha, me focus on one thought…. if I could focus on one thought I wouldn’t be awake all night, thinking about the 50 million things I need to get done every single day.
So for all of you insomniacs I say, I feel your pain and suffering. Like the old saying goes, “I can sleep when I die.”  Unfortunately, the longer we push our bodies and minds and don’t get that necessary rest, we are closer and closer to that eternal sleep.

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

