Good Ole Imagination

I am one huge run-on sentence sometimes. The one who keeps typing on and on and on. You see couple sentences in and I have already typed so much without any real convo. I dominate with my words, be it written or verbally. I have always been that way. “Silver tongued Devil”, I can intrigue people with my stories, I am never boring, I could convince you that something you saw was indeed an illusion and vice versa.

I come from a time when we didn’t have video games, we had to use our imaginations. I know there is at least one person reading this who is asking,”What is imagination, and how do you play with it?” I also grew up half of my life in the backwoods of Michigan. Nothing to do there but, enjoy nature. I am grateful for that, without that boring place, I would have never enjoyed it now.

So because I didn’t have what kids have today, including my own little spoiled gems of children, I had to entertain myself in a whole other fashion. I played sports; baseball, basketball, soccer, tennis, volleyball, does badminton count as a sport? I suppose anything you wack around with some sort of stick thing, is considered a sport, hence baseball. I tried to keep myself busy when I wasn’t in school, life was seriously brain numbing boring in that little town.

I am also the oldest of my siblings, therefore, it was my job to entertain them. I spent alot of time telling them stories. Either ones already published or my own out-of-control, extremely imaginative, borderline crazy ones. I don’t know if they are better people for what I did for them, but they can honestly say I was never dull.

So, I leave it like this, parents and people with siblings, shut off the technology, including tv, and get this society back on track. Teach them how to use imagination and how to entertain not only themselves without that other stuff but, to entertain other children. Family is important, nobody on this planet could ever teach your kids what you can teach them.

2 thoughts on “Good Ole Imagination

  1. sulekkha says:

    I know what you mean because I did the same thing growing up. Imagination kept me happy and entertained , didn’t miss the gadgets back then, life was simple and fun. Enjoyed reading your post Jenni

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Sulekkha I am so glad you enjoyed it. I can honestly say I didn’t miss gadgets back then but, I wouldn’t be caught dead without all the fancy tech stuff now. 😀

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

