Just another day, broke and hungry

The one thing I do not have to tell most people, is there is a huge economic crisis happening. But, what I want to talk about today is how agencies that are suppose to help you, do not help in a reasonable way.

Growing up I was taught about karma, everything happens for a reason, and charity begins at home. I was also taught that you must help out the less fortunate not only because it is the right thing to do but, because it is God’s will that you do it. Now here I am an adult with a family, trying to make ends meet. And all I can think about is if so many people believe in God and Jesus and in the Bible then why don’t they take on more traits of those they believe to be in power over us?

There have only been a few times in my life where I have needed assistance to live. I.e state assistance or pantry/church assistance. There has been many of these times I was sent away because I did not belong to the church. Now this seems a bit odd to me. I realize members in need should come first, I don’t have a problem with that. I do however, have a problem with them preaching about,”What would Jesus do” and in the same breath say oh I am sorry you are not our problem. Poverty and hunger is everyone’s problem. If you are a human and especially if you are a Christian it is most definitely your problem. How are you gonna believe that God will accept you in heaven for what you did on Earth if the first lesson he gave you, you failed? What’s that big rule God has…”Do unto others as you would have done unto you.”

Now I am not gonna sit here and preach to you about what God says we should or should not do. But, think about it, are you helping your fellow man in need or are you looking the other way? Which brings me to my reason for writing this today, pantries. Pantries are set up to help the hungry. Now tell me if you can, why it is acceptable to give a family of 4, 2 of them children, 10 sodas and a box of cookies?  Now, I have gone over this in my head over and over, and I still cannot figure out  how the hell this happens. Any other pantry I have ever gone to, gave what they could but, definitely gave food suitable for a family.

Unfortunately, the only conclusion I can come to is a racial one. We live in a majority black neighborhood, I don’t know why this matters but, all I know is it does. So, this pantry has people outside of it in the afternoon cold, quite a few families are there. It is 2 days before Thanksgiving, the time, where in my opinion, people should give more to the hungry. Yet, the people who run the pantry, are yelling and taking pictures of the people in line? So, let me get this straight, first of all you are poor and hungry, just want some food to eat, and they are taking your pictures, for what? They all gonna gather around their table on Thanksgiving looking at the pictures of the hungry and give thanks it isn’t them?

Most people who have ever been broke and hungry, are already embarrassed by the fact they have nothing. Who knows if they have to build up courage to go to a pantry or if the sound of their hunger is deafening. I do know, that any pantry who cannot give more then soda and cookies to a family for a week’s meal should not be called a pantry. I am disturbed by what I saw and embarrassed to be treated as nothing more then a stray animal in the streets. Where is the humanity, the concern, the love?

Next time, you are driving to go buy your groceries, drive past a pantry and look at the hungry families standing out their in the cold. They just want what you have, food in their stomaches. If you have never donated food or adopted a family at Christmas, now is the perfect time to do so. You never know when one of those people might be your neighbor or a relative. Stop being so self-absorbed and wasting money on things you don’t need, it doesn’t take much to make a stranger’s day. Try it, I promise the feeling you will get from doing the right thing is better then any high you get from buying another pair of shoes or a big screen tv.

One thought on “Just another day, broke and hungry

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

