Noone ever told me

No one ever told me
I was their world
their everything
their soul

No one ever told me
I was beautiful
was precious
was wanted

No one ever told me
I’d grow up to be someone
to be valued
to be followed

No one ever told me
I made them proud
made them smile
made them live

No one ever told me
as an adult or as a kid
that they loved me
until I just did

Marilyn Monroe Quote

Google Image "No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they're pretty even if they aren't."

8 thoughts on “Noone ever told me

  1. charlie nitric says:

    Hi Jenni –

    Give me some of that knowledge on how to be kind to my self! I am so hard on my self and you would be very surprised at how much. Lovely poem and I like it very much. No one ever told me and they still don’t to this day. Some day that will change. 🙂

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you for commenting Charlie. When it comes to self-love I am no expert but, if it’s self-loathing you want well now that I have a doctrine in. I grew up in a home where love was given only when you did exactly as you were told and never had your own personality or brain. I gave out unconditional love my whole life but, didn’t receive it in return. It took me most of my life to find out who I am and be content with it. I can’t say I love myself but, I have learned to like myself. That in itself is a huge accomplishment for me. My experiences as a child have taught me much more than I think most people learn in 2 or 3 lifetimes. The only advice I can give you about loving yourself is to look for the positive things you see about yourself and go on from there. I understand not being kind to oneself ,it takes time to overcome it and “feel” worthy of our own self. We cannot expect anyone to make us feel special or worthy; we have to do that for ourselves. My mind is always my worst enemy and that is because of the way I was raised. Everyday is a struggle but, there comes a time when we must just silence the voices of the past and say…” I am worthy and nobody can take that from me.”

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

