Maybe

I woke up today with thoughts of you
this is nothing new
for I go to bed every night
wishing I were the one you were holding tight.
I don’t know why I even feel this way
it’s not like things changed from any other day.
Maybe the closeness has gotten to be too much
maybe reality and I have gone out of touch.
Maybe it’s the sadness I see in your eyes
how I know there’s a hurt you often disguise.
Maybe it’s the way you make me feel good
in a way no one else ever could.
Maybe it’s me who is seeing things not there
maybe I am just being selfish and unfair.
I am too confused to figure it out
it’s hard to be silent when you just want to shout.
I hate being patient, I’ve waited too long
it’s hard to feel this weakness yet stand and be strong.
I hate feeling like this but, what can I do
except sit back alone and keep waiting for you.

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

