I’m being me so please be you

Swag Jacker
Biter
Copycat
Impersonator
Imitator
Mimic
Mime
Aper
Echo
Follower


Words used to describe people who are anything other themselves. In a simple phrase, they just want to be you. I wonder who taught them to do this. Is this some new curriculum in school? I guess students do learn from a teacher, but why on Earth are you trying to be anything else other then yourself? Do you think that you are not good enough to be you?
Everyone has their place in this world, bosses and workers, leaders and followers, me and you.


There are the people who have the ideas and those who don’t. So, my question is why try and be someone that you are not? Don’t you realize that people see what you are doing? Maybe some of you can get away with it for awhile, especially if others don’t know the person you are copying. But, eventually someone is going to notice and call you out on it.


Being someone else is not making you a better you, it is making you a lesser them. There is nothing wrong with learning from a teacher, but there is so much wrong with trying to pretend you are the teacher when clearly you aren’t educated enough to be one. Not only is it a bad look on your part, it is sad and pathetic.


Mimicking someone is what children do, not adults. As adults it is time to leave the games in the schoolyard and do the things adults are suppose to do. Not everyone is a leader, but you can lead your life. I suppose people get the idea that, they can be whatever they want to be, including you. The thing people don’t understand is everyone is who they are from their own personal life experiences. Seriously if you want to be me, I have no problem with it, just be all of me. Take all the pain, hurt and suffering I have endured for years as well, don’t just take the good take all the bad too.


I can’t believe how many people actually copy someone and never once thank, let alone give credit where it is due. Some people don’t mind if they are in the background, but they do mind having their ideas stolen. We all have a brain, all brains are not created equally, yet they all work in basically the same fashion. All brains have ideas; just some are not as good as others. Point is if you were meant to have my thoughts you would have my brain, instead of your own.


Here’s my advice, stop being other people and be the best you that you can be. I am the best me that I can be, so why would you settle for being a cheap imitation. Oh, and the next time you want to use my words, please quote them and add my name. Thanks.
copycat.jpg (333×250)

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

