Conversational Conundrum

I got to thinking today about how many intellectual conversations I have daily. I don’t get out and socialize much anymore since my car turned back into a pumpkin; but, I do talk a lot on social media sites, not as much as I use to but, still.

It’s strange to me that 90% of my most intriguing verbal exchanges are between my daughter (15 years old) and me. I don’t know if I should be happy or concerned. I am proud that my daughter can discuss a variety of topics and keep me mentally engaged. That is a very hard thing to do, because I swear I have A.D.D. and I become uninterested quickly. To me nothing is more vital than mental stimulation, and I do mean NOTHING. But, I’m concerned about the rest of my interactions.

Although I love conversing with her, she can’t take the place of the orgasmic delight you get from an adult conversation. No I don’t mean sexual banter, I mean two adults bonding on a completely higher level. Wait; let me think about that for a minute. I think that is possible but, thinking of the 10% of the discussions I have outside of my daughter’s and mine; I can’t exactly say I have had an orgasmic tête-à-tête.

Wow, that’s a little harsh on the people I talk to huh. But, it’s true; I wonder if I fall in the category of ho-hum conversationalist for them as well. I wonder if people who consider themselves to be on a higher level of chat, actually only are so in their own minds. Obviously, I think way more than I speak. LOL

Who do you converse with all the time? Do you get bored easily with the conversation like I do? Do you consider them to be on, below or above your level of intellect?

I think I am stuck in this conversational conundrum at least until my daughter finds herself thinking she is more intelligent than I am. Oh, how I await that. LOL

Edward Verschaffelt
Mother and Daughter
One thought on “Conversational Conundrum

  1. Motifs says:

    Jenni,what a great post,and I spend most of my time with my daughter also…and like you,honestly speaking,long for something much more than that.I don't think we are wrong,I would love to communicate with people I can talk on..on the same wave length…Alpana Jaiswal

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

