Mother’s Day Is Just Another Day

Google Image

It started on Sunday May 8, 2011 when the rest of the United States was celebrating Mother’s Day. I too am a mother…. of two children. My son left with his dad that morning, my daughter was still sleeping and I was damn near catatonic on the couch.

That’s when I realized if I don’t get up now the turkey breast I was suppose to be cooking will not be done by dinnertime. So, like a good maid I got up and put dinner in the crock pot. Simple, you would think but, I only use the crock pot for food I would normally bake in the oven. All these years and still my oven is nothing more than pot storage.

Google Image

I made my way back to the couch; I was already starting to feel ill. Seriously??? This is my day and my stomach is in knots. What a Mother’s Day this is going to be!!!

My husband and son came back and my son fell asleep watching TV in my bed and my husband….. Well Prince Charming did what he always does on MY days….sat on the couch flipping through countless channels because nothing is worth watching all the way through.

I gave him the evil eye, that’s what I do when I really want to punch someone in the face for acting like “it’s just another day.” You would think I would be use to it after almost 17 years together but, I’m not. At least he managed to bring me home flowers….for that I am thankful. He could have helped with cleaning or offered some cuddletime though. But, I digress….

Google Image

I understand why he does it. He grew up with nothing and for him money = happiness. I am trying hard to break him of that misguided belief. His entire family celebrates life with such vigor it’s a wonder why he doesn’t. I may NEVER know why either.

Google Image

So I spent Mother’s Day cooking, cleaning and vegging on the couch; watching TV and waiting for my kids to wake up.

As the day progressed…. I became sadder. It wasn’t me. It wasn’t my husband’s lack of romance or caring. I usually get over the disappointment fairly fast. It wasn’t until later this week it dawned on me. I couldn’t write, I had no desire to; something or someone had entered my mind and I was an emotional wreck.

My sister, Jessica she was a mom of 4 and never really got the chance to spend time with her kids on Mother’s Day. She made some bad decisions in the past but, never did she stop loving her children. This is something I knew well; as I spent a lot of time talking to her about it.

Bells went off in my head….Jessica was projecting her feelings onto me all week. Not only was Sunday Mother’s Day but, Friday would have been her 34th birthday. I feel bad, I feel ill, I feel her asking me why this happened to her and I have no idea how to explain it to her.

I can’t give her the peace she is asking for. Anyone who understands the supernatural or life after death understands that there is only so much you can do to help them once they have passed away. I don’t want to force her out….. That was never me when she was alive and I refuse to do it in death.

Google Image

Her energy is strong, it always was, she fed off my energy a lot and here I was trying to have a beautiful Mother’s Day and felt her snacking on my energy like a starving Vampire. Even though she is projecting her sadness into my life, I will not make her leave. She has come to me as she has always done; she is looking for me to fix it. Unfortunately, there is little I can do to fix what has her upset and I sure as Hell cannot fix death.

My kids are 15 and 13 and that was the age Jess and I were when we first lived in separate houses. That is the age when she made very poor decisions and I wasn’t there as the older sister to protect her and tell her which way to go.

Google Image

That was the beginning of her lifetime struggle with manic depression. Later I will discuss this illness that affected our family’s lives so drastically.

But, right now I just want to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESS….
and somehow it will all work out in the end. I LOVE YOU!!!

Google Image


6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Is Just Another Day

  1. fantacy in practicality says:

    happy birthday Jess.

    jenni i see a different part of you play the different roles in different ways. there are highs and lows in life, it happens with everybody, you are not the only one, still believe that positive energies will always keep you focused towards life and negative energies will keep you grounded, just never give up your confidence of changing for better.

  2. Debra says:

    Jenni, you must have been the bright star in Jessica’s life. But how these sad memories must haunt you… I pray for healing and peace.
    ~ Love and blessings~

  3. Motifs says:

    I love you Jenni,you are such a strong woman..Jessica is there within you,she was your flesh and blood,and don't punish yourself,at the end,its God's will.I wish to see you happy. Yes,for some,money is all that matters,stop thinking why he is not like others..you will end up hurting yourself.And…Happy Birthday Jessica..

  4. Jenni says:

    This comment is via Finding One's Way who was having technical difficulties while trying to post:
    Jenni,
    I think husbands are the same all over the world “self centered Pricks” lol
    As far as your mental in regards to your sister you are right you can't fix it but you can try like hell not to get sucked into her drama and let it effect your life…
    Happy Birthday Jessica
    xoxox

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

