I Became A Boy So I Could Play Baseball

Google Image

I am the oldest girl in my family; my father had three daughters and always yearned for a son.

Naturally, it became my job to carry out his fantasy. Believe me when I say, I would have much rather been taught how to be a girl but, it just wasn’t in the cards for me.

From the time I could walk I had a baseball in my hand, pretty strange for a little girl but, dad for some twisted reason needed me to play the son role.

My sister who was two years younger than me, got to play girl, in some ways I envy that but, in other ways I don’t. Since I was daddy’s little boy, I learned how to play sports like a boy.

There was no girl who played baseball like I played baseball. I could throw hard and far, I could hit any kind of pitch thrown at me and I could switch hit. Those of you who know nothing about baseball; switch hitting is when you hit right-handed then switch to hitting left-handed or vice versa. Being, ambidextrous, I have always excelled with either hand.

Google Image

As I got older I started playing softball because that was what “girls” played and even though I was good at it, it was not baseball. I spent my days practicing; throwing, catching and batting. Dad had a wooden bat I practiced with; it was heavy but, if I could swing that and hit the ball, just imagine what I would do with a light-weight aluminum bat.

Every weekend during the summer when dad would come home from work, we would go up to the park for baseball practice. Dad would pitch and I would hit and then we would switch. I could strike dad out several times while playing; my sports abilities were the only thing I received praise for.

The thing I can say about dad teaching me to play baseball is I played like a man; both dad and I could hit damn near any kind of pitch, including ones you would never swing at if you were playing in the Major League. If the ball was within arm reach we would swing at it. It was all in fun and kept our talent at maximum peak.

Google Image

 

One day the family went up to the park and played our usual game of baseball. I was pitching, my step-mom was catching, my sisters were in the outfield and dad was batting. He managed to hit a few of my pitches then all of a sudden, I throw this one pitch that maybe dad shouldn’t have swung at. In fact, I know he should NEVER have swung at that. Dad managed to tip the ball with the bat and we all stood shocked as the ball circled high in the sky and CRASHED right into the windshield of his car that was parked on the other side of the fence. It took a few moments and finally dad laughed; “Look what you did.” he told me. “What?! I didn’t hit it.” I replied. Dad never parked that close to the fence ever again.

 

I can honestly say this is a happy memory from my childhood and I am ok with being treated like a boy so I could have the excellent baseball playing skills I posess. There are many things I might change from back then if I could but, this gift I wouldn’t change for anything.

Google Image

22 thoughts on “I Became A Boy So I Could Play Baseball

  1. charlie nitric says:

    Hi Jenni –

    Playing ball is good fun for either girls or boys. Glad to hear you took to it as you know have some great memories for the time you spent playing on the diamonds. I played a lot of baseball through my youth and into early adult hood and wouldn’t trade those memories or experiences for anything. Thank you. 🙂

  2. Jim Brandano says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, a great slice of life. Funny I wrote a little about my childhood today. Must be something nostalgic in the air.
    It is so wonderful that you have this great memory of your dad. My wife has the same type memories but with fishing not baseball. She was the youngest of two daughters and she learned to fish and drive a stick shift lol. Our tool box belongs to her and I own the kitchen Lol
    I wish i knew you back then, I was a good hitter bet I could have got to third base!!!

    JIm

    http://jpweddingphotograpy.blogspot.com/2011/06/from-revere-beach-to-florida-keys.html

  3. melissa says:

    I’m not so much into sports…you must’ve guessed what kind of a nerd I was back then. I knew badminton and volleyball. though ;)… I loved baseball, or at least watching baseball on TV. I think I’ve seen a movie of an all-girl American baseball league before…but what I truly enjoyed in your post is your memories with your dad… the process of learning the sport… oh that “crash” that still echoes in your mind…

    I think I’d like to swing a bat myself…perhaps…one of these days…

    Thanks for this wonderful post…it brought a smile to my face this day 🙂

  4. Anna says:

    What a cute story. Not counting the baseball content, that was me to a certain degree. I was the tomboy of the family. Thanks for finding my blog. I hope you like my story. I found you by clicking on your name and following the chain of clicks through your old blog to this one. Kinda convoluted. Hope to see more of you.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you for finding me. I am so sorry you had to go through all that to get here. I left blogspot over a week ago and was giving people and opportunity to find me here. Unfortunately, I had those blogs for over a year and many people still have those links on their blogs. It most definitely is accurate when they say “Nothing is ever truly removed from the internet.” Glad you enjoyed my post and I hope to see more comments from you.

  5. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. says:

    Great story! Reminds me of when I was coaching, and one of the kids on the other team hit two foul balls way up there… We all kept playing. At the game’s end, we found out he hit the front AND back windshield of his dad’s car…
    But, it’s not the foul balls we remember, but our kinship towards our families that shines through. The foul ball stories are only the vehicles to recall the memories.
    Thanks for the memories!

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Roy for your first visit to my blog. I am glad you enjoyed my post. Baseball memories are always best when somebody’s window gets shattered. lol

  6. sancheeta biswas says:

    i remember my english teacher used to call me a tom boy, my look was like a tom boy with short hair as always. i loved playing badminton. my father taught me play. i was also fond of swimming, that was my favorite sport then. now i have them all as good memories. i experience them when my child plays. reading your post reminded me of all those golden moments. enjoyed your tom boy nature.

  7. on the same aspect says:

    This really is an excellent article and I completely accept what you said. We are trying to setup the Rss feed but I am definitely not very computer literate. Can someone tell me how Ill setup the RSS feed so I get notified of any new blog post? Please explain it in an clear to see way as I are getting old.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you. When you subscribe to an RSS feed you choose whichever reader you will be using. Say you are using Google Reader, I believe when you sign in on gmail it will show you somewhere all the feeds you subscribed to. If you want to make it even easier subscribe my email and you will get an email every time there is a new post available. I will check into RSS because I don’t use it I sign up either email, networked blogs, and their fanpages on Facebook and many I connect with personally on Facebook so I can constantly stay updated. I hope this was helpful to you.

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

