Nobody’s Birthday

Nobody had a birthday
and she hoped it would be cool
even though every year she’d
turn out looking like a fool.

Nobody threw a party
and invited all her friends
hoping that this year someone
essentially attends.

Nobody sat and waited
for a birthday card or two
the mailman must have lost them
only bills were getting through.

Nobody grabbed some plates
and a knife to cut her cake
but, when she looked around her
there was nothing to partake.

Nobody took a picture
of all the gifts she got
but, when she viewed the photo
there was nothing in the shot.

Nobody listened kindly
for a birthday song sung proud
she must have lost her hearing
for she heard no words out loud.

Nobody sat reflecting
wiping the teardrops all away
how dare she think she’s special
just because it’s her birthday.

Google Image

24 thoughts on “Nobody’s Birthday

  1. Terrie says:

    Beautiful Jen… but it makes me think of Jesi, since your lil sister wasn’t here this year to celebrate her own birthday. Birthdays can be rough enough, expecially when the birthday girl is not with us to celebrate.

    I know you have one coming up on the 17th though… I know, because I was there when ‘you’ happened…!! Happy Birthday Jennifer… !!! XOXOXO Mom

  2. Elizabeth Deckard says:

    This was my birthday this year. But, it’s okay. I turned 43, as I get older it’s just another year. I hope that next year will be better. It would be nice to get at least one card or go out to dinner. Poverty does this to you. No money to spend on a birthday so no birthday.

    • InJensMind says:

      Awww I am so sorry to hear that Elizabeth. You are right no money means no birthday or holidays unfortunately every year lately has been this way. Hopefully we will go out for my bday which is actually on Sunday, I just wanted to get this poem up before then. Thank you for visiting and commenting my blog I hope to see you comment again in the future.

    • InJensMind says:

      My past birthday’s Deb. That was all memory and because my bday is coming up I get a bit melancholy this time of year. I wanted to write something but, this one I felt needed to be shared first because maybe just maybe this bday won’t be the same. Here’s hoping. lol

    • InJensMind says:

      I am so glad I wrote this piece not because it is sad but, because it reflects my past birthday’s. I have had time since writing this and I feel very optimistic for my birthday this year. I guess writing it down really does put things in perspective for you. Thank you Melissa I will be having a happy day before and happy birthday. 😀

    • InJensMind says:

      Awww thank you. One day I am sure I will have a great party until then I am surprisingly content and happy about this year’s birthday. I appreciate the words you have said because you are absolutely right, I am celebrated every single day, I think that’s what I finally realized this year. 😀

  3. Ravenmyth says:

    Jen, birthdays can be hard for people, all for different reasons. It is not uncommon to be sad because of past birthday experiences. Your realization that you are celebrated every day is a big step to understanding that a date does not define who we are. It is just that, a number on a calendar. You are so much more than that. A gifted writer and supporter of all who cross your path. Let the spirit of your day of birth be filled from within..the miracle of your arrival to be an inspiration to all who know you. Our world is a better place for having you in it…that is what a birthday is all about. It is not the day…it is what you do with your gift of Life. I wish you joy…on the day you blessed our world…Happy Birthday Jen…love and hugs…

    • InJensMind says:

      I don’t use firefox so I’m not sure. I know at least one of my readers uses firefox and has no issues displaying it. If you can’t read it try another browser I would hate to lose a reader over a browser issue.

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

