Murder in the Desert

Stuart Nager gave me a challenge: “My prompt to you: First line: “The heat has fried my brain and I can’t think.” Choose to write from one of these three genres: Sci Fi, Paranormal Romance, or Action/Adventure. Include, in what you write, the words: Angel, Stars, Kiss, Time, Button, Message. No more than 1,000 words. No less than 400. Good luck.”

*Note: I want you all to know this is my first fictional story to be posted, so please critique away but, be gentle and caring because after all my fragile ego is at your fingers mercy. Hope you enjoy it, we will see if I write others based on feedback. By the way there is adult language i.e cursing in this, so if you’re offended don’t read it. Thank you and have a lovely Wednesday.*

Google Image

“The heat has fried my brain and I can’t think. Why are we out here in the middle of Hell again?”Bob gasped. “You’re such a fucking pansy Bob. Suck it up princess, the time would pass much faster if you’d stopped whining like a bitch!” Ted replied angrily.

Bob and Ted were hiking in Nevada near Area 52. Ted had dragged Bob out on another one of his senseless buried treasure adventures. It was Mid-July and the desert sun was beating down on them from every imaginable angle.

“I’m thirsty” squawked Bob, halting dead in his tracks.
Ted kept walking oblivious to Bob’s all too familiar cries for constant pampering and attention.

Suddenly Ted stopped, “don’t mooo…”
“Don’t moo? What the hell would I moo for?” Bob yelled from a few feet back, breaking the awkward silence.

Ted was in a zone while his eyes scanned frantically from the west to the east. He then abruptly spun around, eyes still scanning the horizon.

“What are you looking for?” Bob asked
“A fucking McDonald’s Bob. I want a goddamn Big Mac, is that ok with you?” Ted retorted while shaking his head. “Fucking idiot” Ted said under his breath.

“No need to be rude,” Bob responded.

Whatever Ted had been focused on had drifted out of sight much like a passing tumbleweed. “Must be this damn heat.” Ted thought.

No longer feeling threatened; Ted hiked on. Bob realizing he was being left behind soon followed suit. “Can we stop now Ted?” Bob inquired. “No!” Ted said. “I’m really tired though Ted.” Bob replied. “Say one more fucking word Bob and I will cut out your fucking tongue!!!” Ted exclaimed. “But…” before Bob could finish his sentence Ted yanked out his hunting knife and darted towards Bob. “SAY SOMETHING!” Ted demanded.
Bob put his hand to his lips, making a gesture as if he was fastening a button.

Ted placed a kiss on his knife blade before putting it away; “works every time,” he thought. Ted looked at the sky, “It will be getting dark in a few hours. We should only have a few more miles to go before reaching our destination.” Bob must have been scared stiff because for 5 miles he didn’t say one word. Finally Ted stopped, saying “I think this is the spot.” “Bob hand me the shovel and pick-axe.” Ted growing impatient screamed, “BOB GIVE ME THE FUCKING SHIT NOW!!” Whipping around ready to slap him, Ted discovered that Bob was nowhere to be seen. “Where the Hell is that pansy?” Ted grumbled.

Ted’s eye’s scanned the horizon again… nothing. Then he caught something out of the corner of his eye, it wasn’t Bob. Ted turned his head, faced forward and came face to chest with something huge and green and just plain strange. “What the…who the… oooh myyyy God, what are youuuu?” Ted stuttered while stumbling back several feet.

Ted had not found what he was looking for instead he had found a giant green man; an alien. The alien looked at Ted and reached out its hand, holding something pinkish red. Ted stepped closer to see what it was. “Oh my God, is that a tongue? Is that Bob’s tongue?” Ted cried out, stumbling backwards again and this time falling to the ground.

Closing his eyes, Ted thought to himself, “when I open my eyes it will be gone and Bob will be standing there laughing his fat ass off at me. 1, 2, 3.” Ted opened his eyes and rubbed them roughly, to his dismay there were now three more aliens standing there; all of them holding something. “Jesus fucking Christ!!!” Ted shrieked. One alien still held Bob’s tongue, one held Bob’s head, and the other two were holding Bob’s torso and his limbs. Ted got up slowly hoping the aliens wouldn’t come any closer, as soon as he got to his feet he took off running in the opposite direction.

Ted ran and ran until he collapsed from exhaustion and passed out on the hot desert sand. “Ted Billings? Theodore Angel Billings?” a voice called out. Ted tried to sit up; a hand reached out and helped him. Ted screamed, thinking it was the aliens finally catching up to him. It was dark; Ted couldn’t see anything, except the bright lights shining and four silvery stars shoved in his face. “What’s going on? How did you find me? Where’s Bob?” Ted questioned the men in front of him. “Bob is right where you left him.” one officer replied.

“The aliens chopped him up into pieces and tried to offer him to me.” Ted stammered, tears streaming down his face. “Mr. Billings you need to come with us, we have a lot to discuss.” The man replied. “But, how did you find me?” Ted inquired again.
“We found Bob and your message led us to you. Mr. Billings you had spelled Ted with Bob’s body parts.” the officer said.

“It wasn’t me. I am innocent. It was…THE ALIENS!!!!” echoed Ted as the police put him in the back of the squad car.

12 thoughts on “Murder in the Desert

    • InJensMind says:

      I was scared and nervous and freaking out a bit until I sat down and finished writing it. The night Stuart gave it to me I was trying to sleep and the idea popped in my head so I typed out half of it on my Blackberry’s email. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, I just don’t know if it’s any good. LOL Thank you Deb.

  1. melissa says:

    That was so scary…you had me freaking out inside my room (I read it at night before sleeping, eow Jenni!)…:P

    I like the way you take writing challenges… I followed you and Stu through your sonnets… but I truly read this without much thought on the technicalities…

    Geez… you are truly good!

    • InJensMind says:

      Awww Melissa I am so sorry to scare you. Maybe I should put a disclaimer saying, “Don’t read after dark and certainly not before bed.” lol Thank you very much.

  2. Bec Owen says:

    This is great, Jenni…very entertaining. Like Jim said…very “Twilight Zone”. I like how you let the reader fill in some details on their own…very cool stylistic touch!

    Great story! More please…?!

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Bec. After I wrote this I was telling my daughter how I could develop this story some more. Or even do a series of different stories. Glad you liked it. 😀

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

