Breast Cancer Awareness Month: Anger

It’s Breast Cancer Awareness month as many of you know. Before I even get into this post I want to say thank you to everyone who has taken part in the Breast Cancer Awareness movement this month. So many of you have truly shown your support and respect for me, by placing my BCA (Breast Cancer Awareness) post button on your blogs. A few of you have shown me remarkable love by changing your Facebook avatar to the picture I made for my sister. I am honored to call you all friends!!!

 

I fully intended to write a post yesterday, the first day of October, about my sister’s Breast Cancer story. I wrote and wrote, and the words poured from my soul as they always do in my writing. But, as I was writing there came a moment when the pain took over my fingers and by the time I had realized I was over 1000 words. I stopped and reread the last couple of paragraphs… I can’t post that agony here, because…

Not only is my heart aching for the loss of my sister but, I am still angry. I am angry at a God who claims to love his children but, allows their lives to be Hell. I am angry at doctors who didn’t catch the cancer in time for my sister to be able to fight it. I am angry at family members who instead of pulling us together in our darkest hour, decided instead to tear us apart further. I am angry at myself for not being there with her…for not taking our conversations more seriously…for not having money to pay for an autopsy… for not being able to fight cancer for her…and most of all for thinking that some people who are Breast Cancer survivors and battling it, are still taking their lives for granted. In a nutshell, I AM ANGRY!!!

Click on the image to read My Sister's Keeper

My sister was 33 years old when Breast Cancer took her life, 3 days after being diagnosed with Stage 4 Breast Cancer. She’s dead now, do you comprehend that? She is DEAD! She had no chance to fight, no chance at all. I don’t blame anyone for that, it happened for a reason. I am still wondering the exact reason but, it was for a reason. Cancer has affected me… it has taken from me…it has changed me, and I am NOT even the one who was diagnosed.

But, is it not true, that a cancer diagnosis affects more people than just the one who has the cancer? It should but, in most cases it doesn’t. I can tell you this in all honesty, with every bit of my soul showing, that many people on this planet are too self-absorbed to realize; that it is affecting them whether they have a personal relationship with someone who has cancer or not. They fail to realize that if they don’t stand up, unite, and fight with those who are fighting right now…there won’t be anyone fighting for them when their time comes. And believe me when I say, it is much closer than you can fathom.

I don’t expect sympathy for my sister’s untimely death. I expect unity to battle a disease that is devastating our families, our friends, our planet. I don’t want to be known as a hero because I survived my sister’s death to Breast Cancer and wrote a few paragraphs about it. I want to be remembered for my small place among a large group of heroes who fought against this horrific disease. I don’t ever again want to feel like I did when Breast Cancer took my sister’s life. I never again want to tell someone I love; be it family or friend, that I am sorry you have cancer.

Google Image

I am pushing this Breast Cancer Awareness movement because the fact of the matter is, nobody is untouched by it. If you think you are, wake up, because you are dreaming. Everyone knows someone who knows someone who has cancer in one of its many hideous forms or another. You, reading this post, are 1 degree separated from Breast Cancer, Leukemia, Throat Cancer, Stomach Cancer, and Pancreas Cancer; because I have lost family to all of those cancers. Just knowing me through this blog post right here, makes you that much closer to the effects of these despicable diseases. That tear that slid down your cheek as you read my anguish, were the effects of cancer, my dearest reader!

Now that you realize how close cancer is to you… what are you going to do about it?

Please get involved! Support cancer awareness in the form of donations; by donating directly or buying products that give. Support sites and organizations that focus on helping Cancer victims and their families. Support it by wearing the cancer colors, i.e. pink for Breast Cancer. Support it by searching on Facebook for the different cancers and liking the pages. Support it by joining in on events such as the Breast Cancer Awareness challenge event that I have going on this month. Support organizations that specialize in awareness, early detection and free cancer screenings. And most importantly support it by getting yourself checked often (men too, you are not immune) and spreading the word to everyone that Cancer is trying to kill us all.

Don’t let it!!! Stand up, unite, and do something about it!

Google Image

Before you leave here today, please click on the Breast Cancer Site button in my sidebar and give a woman the gift of a free mammogram.

 

Note: Throughout this post are many links, ones that lead to sites to support and several that will take you to my blog posts about my sister and Breast Cancer. Please find time to check them out and comment. Thank you.

31 thoughts on “Breast Cancer Awareness Month: Anger

  1. Savy says:

    I read this and felt your anger. I could hear your voice… I could hear your questions. It is not easy to go through something that leaves you searching for words or emotions…
    Love and Light always

  2. Martha Orlando says:

    You are right that we should all stand up and take a stand to eradicate cancer. I believe it can be done; if we can have computer technology and phones that do everything but dance, why can we not find a cure? It’s there, I know it is.

    You are fighting the good fight, my dear, and I am right there with you as are so many others. Your sister would be so proud of you. Let your anger, though, find a mid-point with your serenity of heart. The balance will make you stronger!

    Love and blessings, Jen!

    Martha

  3. jan says:

    We never will know how truly short our lives are, there is not time to take it for granted. You have my love and my full support. Cancer is a horrible horrible sickness. I have seen up close what it does. My husband and I are still angry too! I do feel your emotions and share them, although the label was different the disease was the same. I am wearing pink.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Jan. I appreciate your support in this still very difficult time for me. I am hoping that more people become involved and get angry as well. It’s time to fight this disease harder than we ever have.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Janaki. I will continue to fight until I can’t fight anymore and then I will fight some more. People need to do more than just know the disease exists they need to stand up and eradicate it before it takes out everyone.

  4. Anna Sides says:

    Jen, get angry and let it out. Tell everyone! It is so very important that you don’t hold that in. Others need to know that it is okay to get angry. A lot of times, people don’t let others hear their words. I believe that, little by little, people are becoming aware of the impact of cancer. You are so very right…it is easy for one to turn their head in ignorance…but it doesn’t protect them. Eventually, they will be faced with a dear friend, a friend of a friend, or a family member that is attacked by this ugly disease. I am so sorry about your sister. I’m sure she is watching you from heaven and is very proud of her ‘sissy’. You are her voice now.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Anna. That is the thing that I have seen the most, people know of the disease but, don’t feel they need to stand up and fight against it until if is their family or themselves. I am fighting harder because it took my sister. She had told us she wanted to fight it naturally and not use Chemo. Unfortunately, the cancer chose for her how she would fight it. By the time people realize they have cancer their bodies have already been fighting it and losing. The more educated people become about the disease, the better their chances are to fight it or prevent it. It’s unfortunate that so many have to be slapped by it before they stand up and fight.

  5. mommakiss says:

    I’ve clicked the free mammogram link – and fully understand your anger. I can’t believe your sister died 3 days after diagnoses. I’m sorry for your loss.

    I walked the Susan G. Komen 3 Day this past July in honor of my best friend who was diagnosed last year. Myself and my team mate raised over $7.2k for research. I’ve already signed up for next year and will continue fundraising and walking until I physically can’t do it any more. I’ll walk for those who can’t walk.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you mommakiss. I am still in shock over it myself. Congrats on raising that for research. I would love to participate one year, we will see if my bones allow me to in the future.

  6. Pamanner says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Cancer does that to us when we experience it ourselves or a loved one does. We get angry. My dad had surgery last week to remove a prostate full of cancer that could have easily metastasized due to the high volume and location. We were shocked, stunned, taken back when we first got the news that it was “just prostate cancer.” I have lost friends to cancer. My life will never be the same. This is a post that not only honors your sister but also helps create awareness which is something we all can be proactive about. I am part of a petition to “turn the white house blue” to raise awareness for prostate and testicular cancer. The link is https://wwws.whitehouse.gov/petitions/%21/petition/light-white-house-blue-mens-health-night-november-21-raise-prostate-and-testicular-cancer-awareness/TBBhSD8F?utm_source=wh.gov&utm_medium=shorturl&utm_campaign=shorturl
    xoxoxo

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Pamanner. The anger is of no use if nothing good comes from it. I believe that something good is coming from it. I am so sorry to hear that about your dad. I wish for him a long, healthy, cancer-free life. You would think the White House would already be fully committed to cancer awareness. After all they are suppose to be leading us, they should be leading us towards health!!!

  7. sukanyabora says:

    i have been meaning to write a post for this initiative but Jen, i just cannot get myself to write it. its been tough the past couple of days. i have been the sounding board for someone, a dear friend who has been recently diagnosed. its hard to think positive when you cant predict the future, when you cannot control whats to be, its very frustrating. the only support i can provide her is to be there for her when she needs me. this is all i can offer at this time.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you sukanya. I am sorry to hear that. It takes time before you can write it out. Dealing with it, is one thing. Writing it out and letting your feelings break loose is another. I have been handling the loss of my sister pretty well until I wrote this post. This post has the anger in it as the first one I wrote when she died. I didn’t even realize how angry I still was until I started writing about it. It takes time and you will eventually be able to write it. If not, that is ok too. Just do what you can right now for your friend and the rest will come later.

  8. Sulekha Rawat says:

    I have lost two friends to cancer in the last one year and know one survivor. Another friend is awaiting results of her breast cancer test…I know the pain and the suffering people go through and am supporting the cause. Your pain is evident in your post and your anger is justified, we can be there for our friends in need and make a difference. Praying for all suffering and cheering all survivors…god bless

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Sulekha and so sorry for your loss. It is very important to be there for our friends and family when they are diagnosed and just as important to be there for those we don’t know who are suffering at the hands of this disease daily. It’s time for we as a people to remember that we all have someone we love who has died or sick with cancer. Therefore we should be helping out as much as we can to those who we don’t know as well.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Sonia. It is sad and it is tragic and it has made me a stronger, louder person because of it. She can’t speak on her behalf so I will stand up and do it for her. Hugs to you as well.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Deb. I don’t want any credit, I just want to spread the word and help people understand that we have to help any way that we can. The time for being selfish is over, it’s time to unite and find a cure!

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

