What Is Really InJensMind?

What is really InJensMind? Absolutely freaking nothing! HA…

I can’t even begin to tell you all how overwhelmed I feel at times. My mind is always racing 100 m.p.h. except for the times when it is up to 200 m.p.h. which is usually when I am trying to sleep. I’ve come to notice something about myself recently and well I can’t help to wonder if it is just me or is there something else. Something… deeper, that is going on.

My brain is fried. You know like the egg in the skillet in the old 80’s anti-drug campaign commercials. You have no idea how much I despise eggs let alone a fried one inside my skull. But, it is true, my memory is kaput. I mean… Sure, I can remember certain things, i.e. my shitty childhood, birthdays, every single inch of every single building/house I have ever stepped foot in. Because who wouldn’t kill to own that delightful and mind-blowing skill!?! Can’t remember where I parked the car but, don’t fret I can envision with exceptional detail, every aisle in the grocery store without stepping foot in it. Humph! But, what I cannot remember is, have I ever told someone this story before? What did I eat for breakfast? Who is that person that keeps messaging me, have we spoken before? Where’d I put my cellphone? When was the last time I took a shower? Did I take my pills today?

I’m seriously surprised I can even finish a post. LOL It’s comical but, still it really isn’t. There are many things that I can’t seem to recall. Tiny inconsequential things but, many things.  An entire lifetime of things. I’m not sure if this is some kind of premature Alzheimer’s, my insulin resistance issue, a brain tumor, caffeine/sugar/carb overload, lack of refreshing sleep at night, being married for nearly 19 years, never leaving my house to socialize with anyone who doesn’t bark or was grown inside of my womb, a freakish Zombie brain eating accident, the lack of mind-blowing sex (oh wait, that wouldn’t be helpful whatsoever… or would it!?!) or just years of blocking out traumatic details to the point I don’t know anything other than my name. And even that is iffy at this moment. What’s my name? No really, what’s my mother****ing name? Sorry, I had a former rapper flashback.

All I know is, this is really beginning to bother me. Maybe, I should see someone about this. In the meantime… can someone give me Dr. Frankenstein’s number? I’m sure he has a few extra brains just lying around unused. Ooo EEEEgor, ver eeee’s meeee brain? Coming Master!!!

16 thoughts on “What Is Really InJensMind?

  1. Ron Reed says:

    Love the post Jen. 🙂 Ah, yes, the memory thingy. I fondly refer to it as Sometimer’s Disease. I have a theory that the trivia compartment in the brain gets full and starts leaking into the practical memory compartment and contaminates it…just a theory. I wrote a post about it last year titled “Ginko What?”

    Good post 🙂

    • InJensMind says:

      Thanks Ron. Hmm, Sometimer’s you say? I think I might have an advanced case called AllTheTimer’s. Which sounds remarkably like Alzheimer’s. LOL Not that I find that funny for people who actually have it. Where’s my version of Adam Sandler in ’50 First Dates’? Funny you mentioned trivia, I have a large memory storage of useless musical knowledge… that could be it. I will have to check out your ‘Ginko What?’ I take it you couldn’t say Biloba without giggling like a schoolgirl? 😀

  2. Martha Orlando says:

    So sorry you are having these issues, Jenni, but you sure did write humorously and cleverly about them. I think when our minds are racing, as you say yours does, that’s when we forget things most easily – all those minor things like where are the keys? Where did I park? – I do the latter all the time! For me, spending time in silence helps free my mind of the clutter that gets in the way of remembering what I want to remember.
    Hope you can find a resolution to all this.
    Blessings to you!

    • InJensMind says:

      The one thing I learned long ago is to be the first one to laugh at things I do. I was always a clown so writing things in a funny way comes naturally to me. It is how I act on a daily basis. Sitting in silence huh? Do you meditate or just sit in silence and wait? I’ve found that when things are silent the more haywire my mind goes. I try to focus but, other things I wasn’t even concerned with come popping up. Like when you are counting something and someone comes over and yells random numbers until you lose focus and have to start counting all over again… Yup, I am on both sides of that. I am the focused counter and the random number yeller. lol Hope you have a wonderful weekend Mary.

  3. Galen Pearl says:

    Gosh, every reader can relate! I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed myself lately. Not with too much busy stuff, but more with deep soul weary stuff, like my dog who is old and, well, very old. Yeah, and busy stuff, too. I just want to go up to my cabin with a good novel for a few days. Think I will do that next weekend.

    On silence, I do meditate, and when I go several days without my morning quiet time, things start to go downhill. Like you, sometimes my mind gets crazy in the quiet times, but that is part of the practice. I’ve learned to lean into it rather than fight it. Am I always successful? Noooooo.

    Great post.

    • InJensMind says:

      Thank you Galen. After awhile the overwhelmness feels like normal… well it does to me anyway. I really have to be bothered by it to realize how bad it truly is. I’m so sorry about your dog, I understand how weary that can be. A cabin and a novel, sounds like a novel idea. 🙂 I have tried meditating on and off for years, I live in a very loud house. (My son is moderately-severely hearing impaired) So there is no quiet here. My husband has screaming night terrors and my 14 yr old son is now showing signs of that as well. I have learned to deal with the loudness by tuning out as much as humanly possible but, it is a trial. Maybe one day I will find silence, than again I may not know it when I hear it. lol Have a great weekend Galen. 😀

  4. Dangerous Linda says:

    Hi, Jenni! ~

    I don’t even know what to say — hah! I’m glad you still remember me!!!

    I’m working on getting better at remember things like names of people I meet. When I first hear their name I repeat it several times in my mind and then try to come up with a mnemonic device for remembering, like thinking of a person they remind me of with the same name, for example.

    There’s so much juicy stuff to think about all the time, as you named just a few in this post, that it’s easy for the ‘little’ day-to-day things to slip out of mind. Good luck figuring out what works for you! XOXOXOX

    • InJensMind says:

      LOL How could I forget a person as Dangerous as you Linda?? Sometimes I think I forget things because I zone out a lot. I don’t think I really mean to but, it does happen quite a bit. Hell, I don’t know if I will ever regain my memory but, for now I am enjoying the comedy that arises from it.

  5. Amy says:

    Yeah, I’m not going to win any memory contests that is for sure… It is troubling! if you figure it out please let me know.

  6. Corinne Rodrigues says:

    Jenni – I can tell you that like the others I can relate to this. But like Martha said the silence helps – and the writing does too – so every time I find my mind going haywire – I start to write (can’t you make out?)- it helps me to focus and relax. Hope you find what method suits you – I’m sure we all have one that is unique to us. ♥

    • InJensMind says:

      You know Corinne you may be on to something. I should be writing more, maybe that will help me remember things if I get some of the extra out… Here’s hoping I can do both of those things more frequently. ♥

    • InJensMind says:

      Awww Nikky. Handle those things first and then in time your memory will improve. Well, hopefully it will anyway. I can’t guarantee anything. Hell, I may not even remember saying this to you later on anyway. 😀

Stand upright, speak thy thoughts, declare The truth thou hast, that all may share; Be bold, proclaim it everywhere: They only live who dare. -Voltaire

